Sometimes it just has to be done…

VGR Headshot
There’s something inherently relaxing about dressing up in a Star Trek uniform (I have a TNG jump suit, a VGR shirt and just won a TOS shirt on ebay) at around midnight on a Saturday. It’s something that I’ve always, always, always wanted to do (not necessarily at midnight on a Saturday) but haven’t had the funds to the ability to avoid my parents somewhat despairing looks. Now I live on my own and happen to be many, many miles away from my parents (and recently had a promotion at work) so I CAN INDULGE!

I’ve never taken part in any sort of cosplay and I think I’ve missed the boat with the Star Trek conventions taking place in the UK but I know there are a few general science fiction conventions going on around the UK over the end of this year and next year. I think I’d rather go to a dedicated Star Trek convention so I can geek out with a fandom I know fairly well, I am a fan of general science fiction but I’m very much a n00b in that area, I am a fan of Isaac Asimov but haven’tTNG Head Shot read the entire ‘Foundation’ series (read all his robot stories and am a huge fan of his Elijah Bailey/R. Daneel stories) and my other sci-fi readings are on the slim side (trying to rectify that!)… I hated ‘Firefly’ and only recently got into ‘Battlestar Galactica’ – that’s the mainstream sci-fi dealt with, my knowledge of obscure (usually ’70s) sci-fi you could fit on the back of a very small postage stamp. No, I think I’d be out of my depth at a general science fiction convention, I now have to hope that with the new Trek film coming out in May next year that there will be a resurgence in the British Star Trek scene (maybe we can be the new home for ‘Star Trek: the Experience’).

For now, I can be a complete dork and spend my evenings pretending I’m on a Starship*

*(Disclaimer: I have never done this)

2 comments

  1. Marius

    The Voyager uniform looks really good. I’ve never had the cojones to actually get a uniform, but if I did it would be the Wrath of Khan style one. Probably sweat to death in it, but they looked sweet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

