Films I'm Itching to See

In my day to day existence as a console operator I find myself reading a lot of film magazines, usually I ignore the interviews with actors and directors (unless I’m interested in them) – what I love to read at the “Coming Soon” sections and the “Rumour Mill” sections about possible film ideas that are being kicked around. What then tends to happen is that I end up with a long list of films that sound really interesting or so bizarre I have to know more… as the year goes on things get eliminated or added depending on how interesting/amazing/weird a trailer looks. Often I don’t get to see the film at the cinema, but I know that I will see the new Harry Potter and Star Trek films at the cinema… others, I want to see but may not get round to it (it costs £9 – £11 to see a film in the centre of London, and even then you might have missed a film because it wasn’t a big release…).

As it stands, this is my current list of the top ten films I’m dying to see. In order.

10. Ice Age 3: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (UK Release Date – 1st July 2009)

What? I really enjoyed the first two films, that little saber tooth squirrel thing is worth the price of admission alone! Plus it features mammoths and you know how I feel about mammoths. There was a bit in the second film that really made me jump, you know the bit with the sudden appearance of the horrifying sea monster? Try living that one down…

9. Quid Pro Quo (UK Release Date – I have no idea…)

It sounds very, very strange.

8. Up (UK Release Date – Not sure… between May – August 2009)

I’m a huge fan of Pixar, I will quite happily go and see anything they’ve made. I’ve seen all their recent films at the cinema (with the exception of ‘Cars’ as the trailer didn’t look all that good). This looks like a quirky little film and the trailer looks like fun!

7. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (UK Release Date – 6th February 2009)

Another film that sounds weird and really interesting. I’m starting to detect a theme in my choice of films here…

6. Coraline (UK Release Date – 15th May 2009)

I have to admit that I’m not a huge Neil Gaiman fan, but some of his recent work (‘The Graveyard Book’) has made me reconsider this. After seeing this trailer for the film directed by the guy who did ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas’ and based on Gaiman’s book of the same name… I think I might check out the book now…

5. Planet 51 (UK Release Date – 20th November 2009)

This is actually the film that’s being released one the same day as the Sherlock Holmes film I’m dreading. If it ties in with time off work I might see the Holmes film in the afternoon then wash away the memory with this film. I can’t seem to find a trailer anywhere (I guess it’s too early, what with it being released in November 2009!) but there’s some awesome still pictures up.

4. Watchmen (UK Release Date – 6th March 2009… providing Fox don’t get it pushed back any further!)

I enjoyed the graphic novel, didn’t love it as much as some people but I think it’s got a great story and wonderful visuals. The trailer gives us a visually impressive film and the story is strong enough to withstand most things… I actually think I’m looking forward to the DVD more as one of my favourite things about the graphic novel was the pirate story, and I’m being led to believe they’re creating this for the DVD.

3. 9 (UK Release Date – none announced yet)

Just watch the trailer and tell me you aren’t salivating at the thought of watching this?

2. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (UK Release Date – 17th July 2009)

The films have got increasingly better, the acting has improved from the core cast and the adult casting just keeps getting better. This one looks and feels just as dark as the book and there are certain things I can’t wait to see on the screen. One thing that worries me though is that I haven’t enjoyed Steve Kloves’s adaptations but the last film (which I thought was brilliantly written) was written by someone else… Kloves is back for this film.

1. Star Trek (UK Release Date – 8th May 2009)

I don’t think I need to explain why I can’t wait to see this film!

Honourable mentions go to:
Monsters vs. Aliens
The Surrogates
The Lovely Bones
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
Dorian Gray

2 comments

  1. weathereye

    Well, you know I’m with you on Star Trek. And I also dread the Holmes film, but one never knows … I saw the trailer for Up at Bolt last week, and it looks tremendous. Planet 51 looks like a Wall-E ripoff. And Watchmen? Ah, the legal mumbo-jumbo drags on.

  2. admin

    @weathereye
    I don’t know, the synopsis of ‘Planet 51’ doesn’t sound very Wall-E-ish:

    “The inhabitants of Planet 51 live in fear of alien invasion. Their paranoia is realized when an astronaut arrives from Earth. Befriended by a young resident, he has to avoid capture in order to recover his spaceship and try to return home.”

    I kinda wish that Fox would put it’s money making interests on hold so we can see the film, but alas… hopefully it won’t get pushed back much further. It’s true you never know with Holmes films, from the script review I’ve seen apparently at worst it’s Pirates 3, at best it’s an okay CSI episode.

Leave a Reply

