Book Meme

1. What author do you own the most books by?
Currently it’s a tie between Terry Pratchett and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

2. What book do you own the most copies of?
‘Treasure Island’ by Robert Louis Stevenson.

3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Not really (mostly because I had to look up what a preposition was)

4. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Umm… not sure about the secret-ness of it but I do have a thing for Kay Scarpetta and if we’re talking TV fictional character I’ve got a thing for Erica Hahn from Grey’s Anatomy.

5. What book have you read the most times in your life?
Tie between ‘Treasure Island’ and the Sherlock Holmes stories.

6. What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
‘Treasure Island’ by Robert Louis Stevenson.

7. What is the worst book you’ve read?
Er… oh! ‘Mr Clive and Mr Page’ springs to mind.

8. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
‘The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters’ by G.W Dahlquist

9. If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
I haven’t tagged anyone, but I reckon that Holmesians would get a kick out of ‘The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters’

10. Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature?
Doris Lessing should get it again, and again, and again… oh and I’d be stoked if Terry Pratchett got it but I know that the people who consider these things wouldn’t even think of TP.

11. What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
I’d like to see ‘Ender’s Game’ as a movie maybe, or ‘The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters’ but I think that’s more suited to a TV series.

12. What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
‘The Terror’ by Dan Simmons because I know they’d just turn it into a cheesy action flick.

13. Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
It involved a literary character and two TV characters. I dreamt I was researching an essay when suddenly the door was broken down, the police barged in and I was arrested for  attempted character assassination of Sherlock Holmes.

In court I was represented by Alan Shore and Jerry Espenson (characters from ‘Boston Legal’), and they passionately argued that ever since people started playing the game many theories have been suggested. I was doing no wrong in my explorations of the alternative theories, that my view point was valid as any others that have been presented and discussing alternative theories can simulate additional research to existing theories and present new lines of inquiry. Unfortunately I woke up before the end so I have no idea how it all turned out. I hope I was cleared of all wrong doing.

14. What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
I don’t quite know what a ‘lowbrow’ book is.

15. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
‘Brideshead Revisted’ – I ended up throwing it across the lx box in frustration.

16. What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
As in not often performed? I suppose it would be ‘The Winter’s Tale’ but technically I was the DSM.

17. Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
I used to have a French co-worker who pretty much convinced me that certain stereotypes do actually exist… so I’m going to say Russian.

18. Roth or Updike?
I enjoyed ‘The Plot Against America’ but I don’t think I’ve read anything by Updike… so um… neither?

19. David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
Not read either.

20. Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
Shakespeare

21. Austen or Eliot?
Neither. Not a fan of their works.

22. What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
I have no idea.

23. What is your favorite novel?
‘Treasure Island’ by Robert Louis Stevenson.

24. Play?
‘An Inspector Calls’

25. Poem?
“I wear a little poppy, as red as red can be, to show that I remember those who fought for me.”

26. Essay?
I don’t really read them.

27. Short story?
‘The Dancing Men’ by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

28. Work of non-fiction?
I really enjoyed the biography of Nelson I read a few years ago.

29. Who is your favorite writer?
Tough one… I think Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

30. Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
I don’t want to commit to answering this.

31. What is your desert island book?
The Complete Sherlock Holmes

32. And … what are you reading right now?
The Madness of Angels by Kate Griffin.

One comment

  1. James

    Terry Pratchett does some very funny and entertaingng stuff it’s just a pitty that most adults look at it and well judge the book by the cover. I lile Death and Binky, I suppose my favorate is Mort. Will be poping back again interesting blog, thanks

Leave a Reply

