Top Fives of the Year

The year is drawing rapidly to a close and I feel that for the most part it has been a perfectly fine year. For the first time in about five years I felt like I had a home in London and was able to settle down and indulge in my many vices (mainly films). I wish I’d managed to read more books this year but I got a little sidetracked towards the middle of the year and wasn’t really able to get back on track again, however I have discovered a new love in graphic novels and found myself picking up more non-fiction (even if I haven’t quite got round to finishing them!). Finally, and more importantly, I was able to see some spectacular theatre productions that reminded me why I fell in love with the theatre in the first place.

My film top five is strictly inaccurate, as I won’t be seeing ‘Avatar’ until the 28th December and people do seem to be saying it’s their film of the year. I remain sceptical as nothing about it has struck that little bell that screams “THIS IS AWESOME!” based on the trailers, we’ll see though – my favourite James Cameron film is ‘The Abyss’ and from what I gather most people don’t think it’s all that. I’m seeing ‘Nine’ on the 29th December, and that’s another film that seems to be getting a lot of buzz – I have to be honest, the only song I like from the musical is ‘Be Italian and am a bit worried that, that’s the song they’re using in the trailer but it looks intriguing.

(Not in any particular order)

Top Five (new) Films:

1. An Education / Cracks
2. Star Trek
3. Doubt
4. The Hurt Locker
5. Up / Where the Wild Things Are

Top Film (old) Films:

1. The Haunting / In the Loop
2. Stand by Me
3. Chopper
4. Son of Rambow
5. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas / The City of Lost Children

Top Five Books:

1. The Terror by Dan Simmons / A Madness of Angels by Kate Griffin
2. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
3. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
4. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
5. The Haunting by Shirley Jackson / The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

Top Five TV:

1. The Thick of It (especially episodes #3 and #7)
2. Dr Who: The Waters of Mars
3. Warehouse 13 season finale
4. Psychoville
5. Boston Legal finale.

Now this final one is in order because I’ve only actually seen five stage productions this year.

1. War Horse
2. La Cage aux Folles
3. An Inspector Calls
4. Waiting for Godot
5. Endgame

2 comments

  1. Mark Davidson

    My top five films this year are:
    5. Avatar
    4. Inglorious Basterds
    3. Up
    2. The Wrestler
    1. A Serious Man

    Wasn’t In The Loop released this year though? Definitely my fave comedy of the year, started watching The Thick of It for the first time this year, and it’s probably even more enjoyable.
    Been meaning to check out Warehouse 13, since one of its creators Jane Espenson wrote some of my fave BSG/Buffy episodes. Will hopefully get round to it in 2010.

    • admin

      I just looked it up, and yes you’re right ‘In the Loop’ was this year. For some reason I thought it was last year just after they aired season 2. I didn’t think ‘Avatar’ was all that great, visually stunning but they seemed to forget about the plot. ‘Warehouse 13’ is made of pure win.

Leave a Reply

